International Federation of Digital Seismograph Networks

8H (2009-2011): INGV Temporary Seismic Network for L'Aquila 2009 Sequence

You must be logged in to request updates to this network.

FDSN Network Information

FDSN code 8H (2009-2011) Network name INGV Temporary Seismic Network for L'Aquila 2009 Sequence (ITSNAQ2009S)
Start year 2009 Operated by
End year 2011 Deployment region -

On 6 April 2009 at 01:32:40 UTC an earthquake of Mw 6.3 struck the Abruzzo region (central Italy, coordinates: latitude 42.3420° N, longitude 13.380° E, depth 8 Km), causing about 300 deaths and 60,000 homeless people and causing enormous damage to the city of L'Aquila and neighboring towns.
Following this seismic event, the Emergency Response facility of the Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia (INGV) was quickly activated by installing a seismic network made up of 40 stations in the epicentral area; a part of them with realtime connection (Re.Mo.Tel.), and another stand-alone (Re.Mo.). The stations are equipped with a speedometer and/or accelerometer.
All data are available at the European Integrated Data Archive (EIDA


Citation Information

Digital Object Identifier (DOI) 10.13127/SD/RIUO86YXFJ
For more: DataCite ( JSON | XML | BibTeX )

Data Access

Data Availability
Loading data availability information...

FDSN Web Services provide a common data access API for seismic data.

Availability based on irisws-fedcatalog service.
Full fedcatalog information for this network

Stations in this Network